Did you know that 95% of people who suffer from eating disorders are 12 to 25 years old? That 50% of girls between the ages of 11 and 13 consider themselves fat and 80% of 13-year-olds have tried to lose weight?

Think about it. 12 years olds. Media, especially women’s magazines, are promoting 7th graders to be “healthy” and by healthy I mean thin enough that they have no fat and you can see their bones.

It is sad to think that media is influencing girls and women in such a negative way that they would starve themselves to be “healthy”. Women’s magazines are supposed to be helpful and although some are, a lot of magazines are making girls feel as if their own bodies are not good enough. The strive to be “fit” or “skinny enough” is a struggle that many of us face.

One example of a magazine that says they promote a positive body image is Cosmopolitan. Cosmopolitan says they are about girls with healthy bodies, but yet altered Demi Lovato’s body on the cover of a 2010 issue. Demi Lovato revealed in an article in Cosmopolitan about her struggle with anorexia and bulimia. How are other girls and women going to be confident in their bodies if it appears as Demi Lovato is not even comfortable in her own? Magazines like Cosmopolitan are leading girls and women to think that the only way you will be accepted in society is by being really skinny.

Demi-Lovato-Beauty-Redefined-281x300

This is only one of the many women’s magazines that misleads girls by altering bodies of celebrities and people to make others believe that you can lose weight really easy or that you have to be super skinny.

I will admit I personally have struggled with weight and the focus media puts on it. It is very hard for me to even look at myself without thinking I’m not skinny enough and that I need to go on a diet. Every time I see magazines at the grocery store I’m reminded that society promotes skinny, not average size.  I would be lying if I said I haven’t tried dieting or not eating to lose weight. With all the pressure that is put on people to be skinny it is hard not to want to look like one of those almost anorexic girls on the cover of women’s magazines.

 

 

